

## Continents

## Key Knowledge

- There are seven continents: Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australasia, Europe, North America and South America.
- Some continents have many countries, others do not.
- Europe is the second smallest continent. It has around 44 countries, including England.
- There are five oceans in the world: the Arctic Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean, the Pacific Ocean and the Southern Ocean.
- Natural features of continents include caves, rocks, cliffs, forests and mountains. These can be called 'physical features'.
- Features made by people include bridges, buildings and roads. These features are called 'human features'.





Continent	A very large area of land that includes all the islands with it.	Physical Feature	Something that is natural or has naturally formed.
Ocean	A large area of sea.	Human Feature	Something this is 'man made'.
Climate	The weather conditions of an area.	Population	The number of people that live in a particular place
Equator	An imaginary line drawn around the middle of the Earth, dividing it into the Norther and Southern Hemispheres.	Currency	The money used in a country.
Capital City	The city where the government words.	Ariel	A view seen from above
Desert	A large area of land that has very little rainfall and where not	Rainforest	A large area of land with lots of tall trees and plenty of rainfall.

much grows.