



## **Update on Multi-Academy Trust Application**

29th March, 2023

Dear Parent, Carers and Stakeholders,

In January, following the outcome of a consultation, we wrote to you to confirm the decision to submit an application to establish a new local Multi-Academy Trust (MAT). This application for MAT status would include eight schools, from within the current Outer West Learning Foundation Trust, and see each school converting to academy status.

On Thursday 16th March, the Regional Director for the North East, Katherine Cowell, and her Advisory Board, on behalf of the Secretary of State for Education, approved our joint application for the eight schools in the Outer West area to become academies as part of a new MAT, to be known as the Owl North East Trust (ONE Trust).

We can now move into the next phase of our exploration before each school makes their individual decision as to whether to proceed through to the final conversion and become part of the MAT.

We are delighted with this news and are excited about the opportunities that MAT status will bring for each of our schools, formalising and strengthening our existing partnerships. The new ONE Trust will have 8 founding member schools who have already worked collaboratively and successfully as a Foundation Trust for the last nine years.

These schools are listed below:

Knop Law Primary School Milecastle Primary School Newburn Manor Primary School Simonside Primary School Throckley Primary School Waverley Primary School West Denton Primary School Westerhope Primary School

As the ONE Trust, our vision is to build a shared learning community in which children, young people, staff and parents discover their talents, realise their potential, and develop a passion for learning that endures throughout their lives.

We will adopt the following strapline which is underpinned by our vision and values:

'One Trust, One Vision - Ambition for All'

## **Appointment of a Chief Executive Officer**

As a Multi-Academy Trust, the ONE Trust must appoint a Chief Executive Officer (CEO) whose role will be to provide a crucial link between our schools and a new Board of Trustees.

Our CEO has a critical role; they are accountable for providing strategic leadership and direction for the Trust and its schools, bringing to life the vision and aims set by the Board, in line with the Trust's values.

Head Office: Throckley Primary School, Hexham Road, Throckley, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE15 9DY.

Charity Number: EW41021

Following a recruitment exercise we are pleased to announce that Julie Stuart, current Head Teacher at Throckley Primary School has been appointed as interim CEO.

Julie has been our OWL Trust Strategic Lead since 2016 and is well regarded across Newcastle and beyond for her success in school improvement work, her advisory role within Newcastle Local Authority, and as a National Leader of Education.

Julie will provide high level strategic leadership and management; working alongside our Head Teachers and Governors to ensure the Trust provides high quality education for all our pupils, through the effective and efficient use of resources and people.

Julie will take up her position on a part-time basis from 1st April 2023, remaining as Head Teacher at Throckley, before moving to full-time duties on the proposed conversion date which is likely to be in January 2024.

## What happens next?

Our schools will now move to the next stage of academy conversion where formal gathering of information and data (due diligence) will take place.

It is important to note that each school's Head Teachers, with their Governing Body, will be conducting their own due diligence work. The schools will make an individual decision as to whether to proceed through to the final conversion and become part of the MAT.

A Shadow Board, which is made up of proposed Trustees, will work with individual schools and their Governing Bodies to design and set up models and structures for the future. This will include a formal Scheme of Delegation, which will set out the lines of accountability, monitoring and decision making within the Trust.

All of our schools are committed to working with governors and staff, and informing parents, carers and the wider community throughout this and every stage of the process. It is important that everyone has the opportunity to ask questions and explore the proposal in more detail, therefore each school will continue to have a page on their website which will have links to relevant information, letters and consultation documents, and responses to any questions raised.

In addition to this letter, these will include:

- Letter to stakeholders regarding application to convert to academy status, January 2023
- Statutory consultation letter to all stakeholders, 3rd October 2022
- Consultation Report Summary, November 2022
- Updated FAQs

We will continue to share information throughout the process in a timely manner but, if you have any further comments or questions, please contact your school's Head Teacher in the first instance.

We want to take this opportunity to thank everyone for their ongoing support as we embark on this new and exciting journey.

Yours sincerely,

Vikki Dixon

Chair of Governors

Knop Law Primary School

Liz Simpson **Head Teacher** Knop Law Primary School

Susan Hall
Chair of Governors
Milecastle Primary School

Suzanne Richardson **Head Teacher** Milecastle Primary School Jill Brown

**Chair of Governors** 

Newburn Manor Primary School

Stuart Pickup Head Teacher

Newburn Manor Primary School

Lynn Rae

**Chair of Governors** 

Simonside Primary School

Louise Thompson Head Teacher

Simonside Primary School

Helen Richardson

**Chair of Governors** 

**Throckley Primary School** 

Julie Stuart Head Teacher

Throckley Primary School

Angela Tinning

**Chair of Governors** 

Waverley Primary School

Wendy Leeming Head Teacher

Waverley Primary School

Joanne Lockey

**Chair of Governors** 

West Denton Primary School

Mick MingStones

**Head Teacher** 

West Denton Primary School

Susan Hall

**Chair of Governors** 

Westerhope Primary School

Sarah Russell Head Teacher

Westerhope Primary School